Tribal progress is synonymous with India’s growth: Murmu

Lalpur : Emphasising that several characteristics of the tribal community are exemplary, President Droupadi Murmu on Tuesday underlined the fact that adivasi development is interwoven with that of the country.

Addressing a state-level function – marking Tribal Pride Day – in this village of Madhya Pradesh’s Shahdol district, the First Citizen averred, “The presence of Gonds, Baigas, Bheels, Bhilalas, Kols and Sahariyas is a testament of their special affection for me. Of the country’s approximately ten crore tribal population, about 1.5 cr are residents of this state, which is a figure higher than any corresponding one.

Therefore, the organising of such a programme here is rendered contextual. The tenure of the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee witnessed formation of a ministry dealing exclusively with tribal issues. Adivasis live in mineral-rich areas and conserve nature. During the Raj, they emphatically struggled against the foreign yoke. It was their sacrifice alone that preserved forest wealth. The community accords importance to the group instead of the individual and participation over competition.

Their gender ratio is comparatively better. The Baigas’ traditional healing technique is priceless and endeavours shall be made to document the same. Influential adivasis have made noteworthy contributions to various spheres such as the environment and sports. Padma awards are being conferred.”

During her speech that lasted roughly 15 minutes, Mrs Murmu highlighted the fact that the Centre is toiling ceaselessly towards development of ethnic groups. She referred to tribal freedom fighters and offered salutations to them.

Tribal progress is synonymous with India’s growth: Murmu

The President released a manual pertaining to the Panchayats (Extension to the Scheduled Areas) Act. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan formally announced implementation of the legislation.

Among the dignitaries who graced the occasion were Governor Mangubhai Patel, Union and state ministers.

Leave a Comment